Castelpollard Town Team

Final positions on Castlepollard Town Team filled

The final positions on the Castlepollard Town Team were filled on Thursday March 21 in the Castle Varagh Hotel by, Keith Flynn, Violetta Wajciechowska, Seamus McDermott, John Flynn and Cllr Frank McDermott. The Town Team are now at full strength.

The Westmeath County Council Community Development Section and Regeneration Section are planning to work with the Castlepollard Town Team to provide an inclusive voice for locals from all sectors of the community and look at the opportunities to deliver positive outcomes, making Castlepollard a better place to live, work, invest and visit.

They aim to represent the views of the community and businesses, and facilitate wider involvement in decision-making, identify community projects and initiatives, and access potential funding sources.

Projects already under way are the refurbishment of the former Market House and the new town park near Castlepollard Library.

Make-up of the team:

  • Rachel Cassen and John Flynn, community and voluntary.
  • Shane Mulraney, and Rosaleen Madden, social inclusion and age-friendly.
  • Siobhan Kinahan and Jack O’Sullivan, environment/ climate action/ biodiversity.
  • Joy Kennedy and Keith Flynn, business/ commercial/ social enterprise.
  • Alfie Devine, sport.
  • Donie Cassidy and Lesley Fay, education.
  • Anne Molloy and Catriona Higgins, youth and children.
  • Noel Kinahan and Stephen O’Brien, Development Association
  • Frances Coffey and Violetta Wajciechowska, resident associations.
  • Maria Golvbieva, arts and culture.
  • Cliff Gurren and Anthony Maguire, heritage and conservation.
  • Carol Hayden, Tidy Towns.
  • Fr Patrick Moore, religious groups.
  • Trevor Hewitt, disability and mental health
  • Enda Moynagh, tourism.
  • Seamus McDermott, agriculture and transport.
  • Tricia McKenna (WCD, interim), new communities.
2024 04 06 Westmeath Examiner